Let the Challenge Begin!

Hello everyone. This past week was crazy busy for me and the same goes for this one. I wanted to post information about recipes I like but that will have to wait until next time. Instead, I’d like to give an update on my Advocare 24-Day Challenge. Last Friday was day one and it has been going great so far. It was a slightly rocky start with my cold and schedule but that hasn’t stopped me from working out and eating healthy. It is possible and if I can do it then so can you. πŸ™‚

The main focus of this challenge is to eat healthy and creating balance in your diet. β€œIt’s easier to cut calories than to burn them off”, according to Shawn M. Talbott, PhD, nutritional biochemist and former director of the University of Utah Nutrition Clinic, so it’s very important to choose your food wisely.

Here are some examples of what to eat & what to limit or avoid:

Β Protein

  • Chicken Breast
  • Eggs
  • Lean Fish

Vegetables

  • Asparagus
  • Broccoli
  • Cucumber

Complex Carbs

  • Beans
  • Lentils
  • Oatmeal

Snacks/Other – Healthy Fats in Moderation

  • Avocado
  • Nut Butter
  • Oil

Fruit

  • Apple
  • Banana
  • Berries

Dairy

  • Plain Yogurt
  • Low-Fat Cheese
  • Milk (skim or reduced fat)

Limit or Avoid

  • Soda (even diet)
  • Processed Food
  • Creamy Sauces

Each day I start out with eggs (scrambled or sunny side up), potatoes (sometimes with broccoli and green peppers mixed in), and some sort of fruit. I would really love to try some new breakfast recipes though and possibly prepare ahead of time! If anyone has suggestions I would greatly appreciate hearing about them! Check out my Instagram video of my Sunday cooking.

For lunch and supper I eat either eat chicken or salmon with veggies and another side. Here is my supper from last Sunday – salmon with zucchini and potatoes. It was delicious.

Screen shot 2014-10-22 at 12.15.41 PMFor working out I usually do some cardio then work on my arms or legs. This is where I’m definitely in search of some advice! I have a bunch of workouts from Pinterest to go through to figure out a concrete workout plan. That is how I will be spending my weekend.

Screen shot 2014-10-22 at 12.15.55 PM

If you have questions, comments, or suggestions please comment or email me at nicololihealth@gmail.com.

Thank you!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

